History of Aus-ROC

The Australian Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium (Aus-ROC) was established as a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHRMC) Centre of Research Excellence (CRE, #1029983) in 2011 to increase research capacity aimed at improving out-of-hospital cardiac arrest (OHCA) survival and outcomes. The Aus-ROC CRE was initially a collaboration between investigators from three universities and three ambulance services:

  • Monash University (Department of Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine, DEPM),
  • The University of Western Australia (Prehospital, Resuscitation and Emergency Care Research Unit, PRECRU) – now Curtin University
  • Flinders University (Paramedic Unit)
  • Ambulance Victoria
  • St John Ambulance Western Australia
  • SA Ambulance Service


Professor Judith Finn, Monash University and Curtin University

Associate Director

Dr Janet Bray Monash University

Chief Investigators

Professor Peter Cameron Monash University, Alfred Health
Professor Judith Finn Monash University, Curtin University, St John’s Ambulance (WA)
Professor Ian Jacobs (Deceased) Curtin University, St John’s Ambulance WA
Professor Stephen Bernard Monash University, Alfred Health, Ambulance Victoria
Associate Professor Karen Smith Ambulance Victoria, Monash University, The University of Western Australia
Professor Peter Thompson Sir Charles Gardiner Hospital, The University of Western Australia
Professor Andrew Tonkin Monash University

Associate Investigators

Professor Hugh Grantham Flinders University, SA Ambulance Service
Associate Professor Peter Morley Royal Melbourne Hospital,The University of Melbourne
Associate Professor Tony Walker Ambulance Victoria, Victoria University
Professor Antonio Celenza The University of Western Australia
Dr Teresa Williams Curtin University
Professor Andrew Forbes Monash University
Professor Graham Nichol University of Washington, USA
Professor Gavin Perkins Warwick University, UK

Executive Officer

Ms Mim Morgan Monash University